White paper resulting from a roundtable discussion held last fall with states that had declared emergencies in the context of the opioid epidemic. 

States have used emergency powers to provide governors with new avenues to enhance capabilities, coordination and collaboration across state and local agencies to inform opioid response efforts. The following eight states have activated their emergency powers in response to the opioid epidemic: Alaska, Arizona, Florida, Maryland, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania and Virginia.